Shame On You Review

Title: Shame On You
Author: Amy Heydenrych
Series: Not Applicable
Publisher: Twenty7
Publication Date: 26 July 2018
Source: Jonathan Ball Publishers
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 400
Rating: 3.8 Stars
Reading Timeline: 09 July 2018 - 10 July 2018


Goodreads Synopsis:

SURELY WE ALL LIE A LITTLE BIT ONLINE . . . DON'T WE?

The gripping psychological thriller that explores the darker side of social media, perfect for fans of The Girl Before and Friend Request.

Have you ever reached the New Year and thought it's time to reinvent yourself?
Have you ever lied about who you are to get more likes?
Have you ever followed someone online who you think is perfect?
Meet Holly.

Social media sensation. The face of clean eating.

Everyone loves her. Everyone wants to be her.

But when Holly is attacked by a man she's only just met, her life starts to spiral out of control. He seemed to know her - but she doesn't know him.

What if Holly isn't who she seems to be? What if Holly's living a lie?

YOU THINK YOU KNOW HER . . . 

Book Review:
Pre-Reading Thoughts:

I cannot wait for this book. I was a breakfast with this author for another author's book and she was talking about her book. It sounded like something that I would like to read, so when it became available for request I just had to jump at the chance.

Thank you so much to Jonathan Ball Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book. Just a small disclaimer for those reading this review. I have received this book for free. Please note that this does not affect my opinion in any way. All thoughts are my own.

Writing Thoughts:

I liked the writing in this book. I did feel like wanted a little more with it. It lacked something that I couldn't pinpoint. However, with that being said, I think that everything flowed really well. The pacing in the writing aided the pacing of the plot in most parts. I think that the dialogue was realistic and covered the bases quite. I am definitely intrigued to see how the author grows in her next book.

Plot Thoughts:

I felt like the plot was really well thought out. However, in the last 50-100 pages, I couldn't help but think that I was ready to be done with the book. I felt as if the plot started to drag towards the end and the suspense started to decrease at one point. However, I really loved that we got to see not only the alternating point of views but past and present of the characters. It allowed us an in-depth view into the past of the characters and how those events have shaped the characters in the present. I think that the plot was masterfully thought out and it was definitely something that I hadn't read before.

Character Thoughts:

I loved how strong Holly was but she definitely had some problematic views and opinions when it came to body image. She had this huge negative outlook when it came to her gaining weight and having cellulite. That just alienated the character for me. Tyler was definitely psychotic but I really liked how he was like a cracking egg. It started off slow and then grew into something more.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I liked this book. I thought it was done well and in terms of all the thrillers, I have read this one is definitely one of my favourites. The writing was good but there was something missing as it didn't catch my attention from the beginning. The plot was well thought out but it started to drag towards the end. The characters were strong and impressionable but Holly had a very problematic view when it came to her body which made me kind of want to take a step back. At the end of the day, it was one of my favourite thrillers. Thank you so much to Jonathan Ball Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book!
Yours in Reading,

Melleny

Popular Posts