Prisoner of Ice and Snow Review

Title: Prisoner of Ice and Snow
Author: Ruth Lauren
Series: Prisoner of Ice and Snow #1
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children
Publication Date: 07 September 2017
Source: Jonathan Ball Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pages: 288
Rating: 3 Stars
Reading Timeline: 29 May 2018




Goodreads Synopsis:

Valor is under arrest for the attempted murder of the crown prince. Her parents are outcasts from the royal court, her sister is banished for theft of a national treasure, and now Valor has been sentenced to life imprisonment at Demidova, a prison built from stone and ice.


But that's exactly where she wants to be. For her sister was sent there too, and Valor embarks on an epic plan to break her out from the inside.

No one has escaped from Demidova in over three hundred years, and if Valor is to succeed she will need all of her strength, courage and love. If the plan fails, she faces a chilling fate worse than any prison ...

An unforgettable story of sisterhood, valour and rebellion, Prisoner of Ice and Snow will fire you up and melt your heart all at once. Perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell, Piers Torday and Cathryn Constable.



Book Review:
Pre-reading Thoughts:

I am hoping to read this book as part of the Shelflove Crate readathon that is happening from the 22nd of May to the 29th of May. I don't know much about this book but I really like the cover and I can't wait to get started.

Thank you so much to Jonathan Ball Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book. Just a quick disclaimer for those reading this review. I have received this book for free. Please note that this does not affect my opinion in any way. All thoughts are my own.

Writing Thoughts:

I felt like the writing wasn't a large factor in this book. I felt as if the author was telling us the story instead of showing us the story which I think really took away from the world building of the book. On another, I really felt the desperation that the main character had to save her sister. 

Plot Thoughts:

 I really enjoyed the plot of the story. It was enticing because there was this constant feeling of both desperation and love. But, I think that the reader doesn't really get to engage with the content. Instead, we are thrown into a word and pushed through it too quickly. We don't get to experience the story. it doesn't leave this lasting impression. 

Character Thoughts:

I actually enjoyed reading about Valor. She seemed selfless and determined, everything that a lot of people strive to be. Valor is also humble but like most kids, she makes mistakes without thinking about the consequences. I think that she makes an interesting and maybe even a great role model.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I had no idea what to expect when I jumped into this book. I enjoyed certain aspects but I also found that certain things didn't quite work out well. The writing lacked detail that would help with the world building. The plot was interesting and entertaining but it felt like we were thrown into the story and rushed to the end without being able to really experience it. The characters were great but I felt like they needed a little more to make them well-rounded. Overall, this isn't a bad book. I am intrigued to see what happens in the next book.  Thank you so much to Jonathan Ball Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book.

Yours in Reading,

Melleny 

Popular Posts