Non-Heir Review

Title: Non-Heir
Author: Rachel E. Carter
Series: The Black Mage #0.5
Publisher: Self-published
Publication Date: 24 January 2017
Source: Author
Format: Ebook
Pages: 138
Rating: 3.75 Stars
Reading Timeline: 17 December 2017








Goodreads Synopsis:

Prince. Prodigy. Mage. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.


This prequel novella is set before the events of The Black Mage series. Novella follows Prince Darren as a child through adolescence and his first run-in with Ryiah at the Academy of Magic. Readers discover the dark backstory between the two princes and their father, as well as the ensuing events that shaped Darren into the Academy’s most illustrious mage



Book Review:
Pre-reading Thoughts:

I am so excited to finally start this series. I have heard nothing but great things about this author all year long. I have no idea of how to go about this but I will be reading the series in the other of the books.

Thank you so much to Rachel E. Carter for providing me with a copy of this book! Just a small disclaimer for those reading this review. I have received this book in exchange for an honest review. Please note that this does not affect my opinion in any way. All thoughts are my own.

Writing Thoughts:

It is clear to see that Carter is an experienced writer. She knows how to entice her audience. The writing was detailed and the dialogue was natural. The third person perspective really gave the writing a little more life. The flow of the writing was also really good.

Plot Thoughts:

Despite this being a novella, I found that the book was fleshed out quite well. I did have some trouble guessing the characters age every now and again, but I liked how we got to see Darren has grown up and become the person who is today. I loved that this book was filled with moments that were both terrifying and calm. The training scenes were probably my favourite. I also liked how Carter introduced a strong female. She was equal to Darren in both personality and power.

Character Thoughts:

I liked young Darren who would do anything for his brother. I also liked how Darren wouldn't let his responsibility to his brother shield him from doing what is right.

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I really enjoyed what I read. This prequel novella allowed me inveighs into the series. The writing in this book was really good. The plot was even better. Everything was fleshed out quite well and we learned about the world quite quickly. The characters were well rounded and each had their own inner conflict to deal with. I am definitely excited to start the next book in the series! Thank you so much to Rachel E. Carter for providing me with a copy of this book

Yours in Reading,

Melleny

Popular Posts